Untied Shoes


​”Please tie your shoelace, honey.”Mom said when I was five years old. I was in a birthday party and was about to play tag. Life was very easy then. It was just about learning to tie your shoelaces and you could go and venture out the open world. 

“Shine your shoes, dear.” Mom said when I was ten years old. I was about to go to school . Life was kind of  easy then. It was just you and learning how to shine your shoes because that was what ‘proper and clean was.’ 

“Do’nt wear highheels, honey.” Dad said when I was 14 years old. I was alone in the house when mom and  dad returned from doing grocery. Life was kind of beginning to get tough. I had to learn to fit in; whatever that was. 

“Let me tie that shoelace of yours, love” Said my soon-to-be husband. I was 25 years old. We were about to get married. He entered the room and helped me dress up. Life was at its most beautiful. Though my parents did not come. 

“Mr. Andrew, you are wearing the wrong shoes!” Gaia shouted at me. I was 35 years old. Tired, I just let my untied shoes be.

Leave a Reply

