Infatuated Human

Arf.

 I watched Nicolai grow up. His parents got me for his 4th birthday and I have been there ever since. I was there to witness his first steps, I was there when he was a curious babe and I had to place things away from him. I was there when he first entered school, how hard it is for me not to eat his school snacks everytime he dropped it on the floor. How I would walk him to the bus stop and how I would wait for him to return every coming of sunset. When he was a bit older, he started taking me to the park, patiently teach me tricks. I was there to protect him from a group of bullies that I chased around the neighborhood, and I was there when I met my replacement. He was in highschool and all of a sudden, I watch him abandon his video games to hold chocolates and flowers. I watched him take off his printed shirts to wear a stupid tuxedo and a stranggling necktie. I tought it was all for me– but I’m not allowed chocolates. It was for a thing they call ‘girl’. That ‘girl’ became a friend and that friend became a ‘girlfriend’. And I soon shared everything with this girl. The couch, the house, the park, the backyard, and most importantly, Nicolai. I hated it. I hated her. And during my first weeks of meeting her, I would yell at her and she’d get scared. Nicolai had to threaten me that he’ll chain me up if I did not keep quiet. So I accepted that girl. And I tought ‘What could  man’s bestfriend have against man’s girlfriend.’

 But he was young. Not rel love. Just infatuation. So they broke up.  I was there to comfort him through the nights of tears. Then when I tought everything was fine, I saw a beautiful pomeranian outside our house. Arf.

Leave a Reply

